Twitter and Facebook

When I post on twitter I feel like no one is reading me because they don’t really REPLY. They can retweet but unless they follow me they don’t see me and unless I follow them I don’t see their reply. On Facebook when you are friends, you are friends with “each other” which means you both see each other on Facebook.

I’ve been asked, “Why do I use Twitter and Facebook?”  On Twitter I can follow interesting people who are more celebrities and get the scoop fast. Since I don’t read a paper newspaper (does anyone anymore?), I follow FOX4DFW and CNN for News. I also follow several reporters, plus the local weather and traffic geeks. It’s nice to get the updates from around DFW especially on the weekend when I normally wouldn’t know about traffic at the ball field or toll way. In case I need to know to avoid a trip through an area. It might also alert me if there were an important weather fact, like when fires or tornados blow in with little notice.

I also follow my TX legislators and senators. Before Twitter I never knew what they thought unless they sent me a postcard asking for my vote at election time. I can also follow minor celebrities like Dave Ramsey, Lisa Welchel, and Ed Young. They post/tweet updates to what they’re writing, where they are, and what they’re doing. Sometimes they even post a picture or two and that shares on Twitter also.

A third reason why I use Twitter, is that I can follow Twitter on my blackberry and I follow Facebook on my laptop. I follow Facebook during homeschool, while I’m waiting for kids to finish worksheets, or late at night while I’m relaxing in front of the TV. I can use my blackberry to follow Twitter anywhere. PLUS, twitter doesn’t beep at me for updates the way that TXT messaging does. I’m liking that feature!

So, when do you use Twitter? Do you use Facebook and Twitter? How do you use them?  It’s been fun learning.

PS. Did you know Twitter is being called micro-blogging?

One Response

  1. I don’t understand Twitter. I have an account and I’m following a few people but I just don’t understand how it all works.
    Facebook is EASY! I love having my friends right there and catching up with them all. 🙂

Leave a Reply

