My Many Hats

many hatsI think I need to write a bit about why my friends have dubbed me “The Resource Queen”. I think it started when I was in school and I decided on a college prep high school course load. You see, I never read a book that wasn’t assigned for school. When I graduated from college I suddenly discovered the concept of “pleasure reading” but I got hooked on NON-fiction. I started with self help books, moved to sales training books. Years later, as a new mom and wife, I approached my marriage and parenting as the engineer I’d been previously, and I read over 20 books the first year as a wife and mother. A couple years later, while my first child was two, I discovered “homeschooling”. I quickly read over a dozen books on “how to” homeschool. Plus, I read cookbooks, especially cookbooks about freezer cooking. I know I have at least 5 … I’ll list them for you sometime soon.

So when topics arise in discussion with friends and acquaintances, I can almost always report something about the topic that I’ve read. At this point the friend turns to me mouth agape wondering how I knew that.

So here, in no particular order, are the hats that I wear …

Your Educational Consultant ~ I’ve been selling Usborne Books At Home for the last 4 years.

Successful Christian Parent ~ for 11 years now. My children are 11, 7, and almost 6.

Freezer Cooking Guru ~ I’m been reading and practicing freezer cooking for over 5 years, since my second child started to EAT!

Resource Queen ~ I keep finding people asking me questions and I always seem to have answers or advice, but I try not to be a know-it-all.

Personal Meal Planner ~ because I want to share the answers that I’ve found, I recently became a distributor for Homemade Gourmet. I can help you plan meals for your family and save you time and money. I’ll write more about that later too.

Other titles on my resume could include…

  • Homemaker
  • Home Teacher
  • Civil Engineer
  • Domestic Engineer
  • Project Manager
  • Technical Writer
  • Party Planner
  • Budget Manager
  • Mentor, and don’t forget
  • Chauffeur

Image by Maia C

Leave a Reply

