My Gallon of Spaghetti Sauce

Works for Me Wednesday meme

This is my first “Works for Me Wednesday” entry.

My Gallon of Spaghetti Sauce

adapted from Mega Cooking page 357

Use your large dutch oven to combine
2 15-ounce cans tomato sauce
1 15-ounce can crushed tomatoes
5 6-oz cans tomato paste
10 Tbsp HG Spaghetti Seasoning
5 Tbsp dried oregano
1 1/4 cup chopped onions
1 1/4 cup chopped bell peppers
1 1/4 cup chopped mushrooms
5 cloves garlic crushed

Bring to boil over medium heat. Remember, tomato-based sauces have a very low boiling point, so stir often. Reduce heat to simmer. Cover. Allow to simmer for 1 hour.

Use some spaghetti sauce for tonight and freeze the rest in 1 or 2 cup portions. You can use the baggie in zip-lock freezer bag method or the bag in box method to freeze the meal-size portions. Label and date the outer bag.

Use this as it is for pizza sauce. To use this as spaghettie sauce add 1/4 cup water to 1 cup sauce or add 1 cup water to 8 cups of sauce. Basically, add water as needed for desired consistency of spaghetti sauce. Add meat or meatballs to use with Spaghetti dinner. OR use this sauce in any recipe calling for canned spaghetti sauce, manicotti, lasagna, etc.!

3 Responses

  1. [...] My Gallon of Spaghetti Sauce [...]

  2. [...] serve pull out 4 meatballs per serving and microwave until warm or heat in the spaghetti sauce. See Gallon of Spaghetti Sauce for my [...]

  3. Wow! Thank you!
    I always wanted to write in my site something like that. Can I take part of your post to my site?
    Of course, I will add backlink?

    Regards, Timur I.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

